Play (Lists)

Washington DC’s Capitol Groove Collective Invites Listeners to Dig Deep in the Fight For Social Injustice

The Capitol Groove Collective, made up of various contributors from Washington DC, Maryland, and Virginia, just released their first collaborative effort in response to a climate of political upheaval, disagreements on basic human rights, police brutality, and a pandemic in the hopes that music will continue to be effective in delivering a message of hope and strength for the people.

Capitol Groove Collective (CGC) is a diverse community of creatives whose strength lies in the vast array of genre, gender, and ethnicity of artists involved in the mission of bringing DC music to the national stage. The collective was founded by Goddess-rocker Emma G and is co-managed by rock musician YellowTieGuy and pop-rock, singer-songwriter SOLIA. CGC consists of nine other creatives from the DC metropolitan region in total, including: Billy Mayfield (soul), Music Giff (country-soul), Jarreau Williams (R&B), Silence Echoez (rock), Jonny Grave (rock), Nick DePinto (country-rock), Stephanie Mathias (classical pop), Ting Lin (Spanish/Mandarin pop-fusion), and Josh Roberts (music producer). For more about Capitol Groove Collective, visit their website at

More to explore

Pennsylvania queer duo Witch Weather pose for a promo photo outside on the street.

Witch Weather: ‘People Are Missing Close Connection’

Queer duo Witch Weather discuss new album and the influence of the DMV on their sound.

Philadelphia-based queer punks Witch Weather have a message for anyone who feels hopeless and worthless: you are not alone. With an irresistible sound that draws from 80’s goth and lo-fi grunge, the indie duo wears their heart on their sleeve, giving voice to complex emotions that many would opt to suppress in the recesses of their minds.

Join Alchemical Records as they connect with Witch Weather to discuss the band’s new self-titled album, their search for a sense of belonging as members of the queer community, the important element that keeps the duo’s creative bond strong, and the influence of the DMV on their sound.

Read More »

Leave a Reply